the dirrty mixtape (issue#01)

I've been wanting to do this for the longest time but have pulled it off! WHY? because i'm just plan lazy! AS USUAL! HAA!~

Remember the times during the early 90s where mixtapes are such a hot thing. It's corny and cheesey but ever so fun. I can still remember the days where i stick by the radio waiting for the DJ to play THAT track. When he does, i hit the REC button! HAHA! Those were the days. So yeap! I'm bringing back the cheese and corn that made mixtapes so coool with this new section called "the dirrty mixtape". It's not really a mixtape mixtape. It's more like a collection ofd track that fits a specific theme.

For this issue, i'll do the heartbreak collection. This is for those who are going through the moment after the "Let's break up" speech! And this is dedicated to those who are in a solid relationship! Cause you'll never know when will it be over :p

the dirrty mixtape: the heartbreak collection

Watch out for our next edition, where we focus on those breakups/relationships that leaves a bitter taste in your mouth! Haha! It won't be breakups all the time. The edition after that i MAY come up with a love love love collection!

credit: graphic by pinkparis1233

Elliott Yamin "Fighting For Love" Album Review


Fight For Love is the 2nd album by American Idol Alumni, Elliott Yamin. It is scheduled to be release on May 5th 2009, by independent (indie) label Hickory Records.

First Impressions

It wasn't expecting the album to be this good. Since there's alot of Soul/R&B singers floating around, not many seems to make an impression, with most sounding manufactured. To be able to pull of the Soul/R&B genre, one must indeed have a soulful voice and the right attitude to pull it off. Alicia Keys is a perfect example. Listening to this album, it's quite smooth. Didn't skipped any tracks, though I'm not of a fan of some songs in the album.

Standout Tracks

  • Let Love Be
    First track from the album. A nice mid-tempo for an album opener. Makes you wonder what the rest of the album would sound like.

  • Know Better
    Aint a love song. Describes about not understanding compatibilty issues. Filled with angst.

  • Fight For Love
    Title track and first single from the album (except Japan).  Loves the chorus though, it gets stuck in my head.

  • Can't Keep on Loving You (From A Distance)
    Anyone could totally relate to this song. Being a crush or one-sided love, it's kinda painful liking someone but situation doesn't allows the confession. The feeling might fade. If someone comes along, maybe it's not meant to be, but the chance is wasted. Oh wells.

  • Don't Be Afraid  
    An uptempo track. Not the dance/clubbish kind. Something that Ne-yo would sing too. Elliott's vocals fits just right in this song. This song is about encouraging everyone don't be afraid to fall in love (Hence the title). One of my fave songs from the album. Lyrics is good too. =)

  • You Say
    First single for the Japanese market. Now this is what I call a good first single. Definitely single material. Catchy. "Actions speaks louder than words". Indeed. Taken from the song's chorus.

  • This Step Alone
    This song makes me feel kinda emo. Again. the chorus is stuck in my head.

Final Verdict

A decent effort. The uptempos kinda overshadowed the ballads, but overall, it's worth a listen. I could serenade my partner with some songs in this album though. If I have one that is. Hee. Awaiting for the bonus tracks, should be able to make the album more complete i guess (8 bonus tracks!!!!). This album could give Ne-Yo a run for his money. I'm guessing this album would be understated. Give it a chance. =)



Recommended Tracks


The Official UK Singles Chart (May 4, 2009 Edition)


Tincy Styder is yet again at Number 1 with his hit Number 1. LOL! DJ Ironik debuts at number #3. This track sample's Elton John's Tiny Dancer. Other new entry to the top 20 is Girls Aloud's Untouchable.

New Tracks Added: 1

This Week Last Week Artiste - Song
1 1 Tinchy Styder - Number One (ft N-Dubz)
2 2 La Roux - In for the Kill
3 N Ironik - Tiny Dancer (Hold Me Closer) feat Chipmunks and Elton John
4 3 Calvin Harris - Im Not Alone
5 4 Lady Gaga - Poker Face
6 7 Ciara - Love and Sex and Magic (feat. Justin Timberlake)
7 6 Ar Rahman Ft Pussycat Dolls - Jai Ho
8 5 Eminem - We Made You
9 9 Lily Allen - Not Fair
10 8 Beyonce - Halo
11 27 Girls Aloud - Untouchable
12 13 Pink - Please Dont Leave Me
13 16 Miley Cyrus - The Climb (Pop Mix)
14 10 Noisettes - Dont Upset The Rhythm
15 11 Metro Station - Shake It
16 18 Prodigy - Warrior Dance
17 12 Marmaduke Duke - Rubber Lover
18 15 Enrique Iglesias - Takin Back My Love (feat Ciara)
19 20 Keri Hilson - Return The Favor feat Timbaland)
20 14 Flo-Rida - Right Round (X-MiX) (feat. Kesha)


Big Girls Don't Cry

by Fergie

DJ AndieK's Suitably Laced (Urban Dance)


It's been a while since i featured DJ Andie K's work! Its my bad for forgetting :p

01. Jai Ho! (You Are My Destiny) - A.R. Rahman & The Pussycat Dolls Feat. Nicole Scherzinger
02. Right Now (Na Na Na) (Joey B's Epic Electro Remix) - Akon
03. Boom Boom Pow (Dj Tamir Naaman) - Black Eyed Peas
04. Low 2008 (Dj Dvir Halevi Remix) - Flo Rida Feat. T-Pain
05. Beautiful - Akon Ft. Colby O'donis And Kardinal Offishall
06. In The Ayer (Feat. Will.I.Am & Fergie) - Flo Rida
07. Rewind That (Prod. By Danjahandz & Polow Da Don) - R. Kelly Ft. Flo Rida
08. Bottle Pop (Dave Aude Club Mix) - The Pussycat Dolls Feat. Snoop Dogg
09. Closer - Ne-Yo
10. Krazy (R.E.E.O Mix) - Pitbull
11. Right Round (Ross.Fm's Club Remix) - Flo Rida Feat. Katy Perry
12. Disturbia (Jay Amato Boot Remix) - Rihanna
13. No Air (Jason Nevins Remix) - Jordin Sparks & Chris Brown
14. Halo (Gomi & Rasjek Club Mix) - Beyoncé
15. Forever (Cahill Remix) - Chris Brown
16. Heartless (2009 Electro Club Mix) - Kanye West


Get Connected

DJ Andie K's Fan Page

supporting regional and upcoming djs =)
How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

How to whitelist website on AdBlocker?

  1. Click on the AdBlock Plus icon on the top right corner of your browser
  2. Click on "Enabled on this site" from the AdBlock Plus option
  3. Refresh the page and start browsing the site

Follow this blog

Get a weekly email of all new posts.